收到工作面试邀请是一个令人兴奋的机会,您可以向潜在雇主展示您的专业和人际交往能力。随着各家公司越来越注重全球化,拥有专业的英语技能是一项巨大的优势,可以帮助您从竞争对手中脱颖而出。我们从 ULC 的商务英语课程中整理了一些技巧,为您分享如何在面试中展示您的英语技能和文化能力。

1. 编辑简历

您的简历是潜在雇主首先会读到的关于您的信息,因此留下良好的第一印象至关重要。拥有强大的书面英语技能将表现出对细节和通用能力的关注,从而增加邀请您参加工作面试的机会。了解与专业书面英语相关的白话和惯例至关重要,这样您就可以避免错误地暴露您的英语技能短板。在我们的商务英语课程中,我们的专业教师展示了在专业环境中正确使用英语的能力,并帮助您培养创建清晰、简洁和引人入胜的简历的技能。

2. 求职信写作

求职信是您通过简要说明您的专业成就来表达您的个性、职业道德和专业目标的机会。在这里,您可以发挥创意并展示您的沟通技巧。尝试使用行业特定的词汇和更复杂和多样的句子结构。虽然你可以告诉雇主你拥有很强的沟通技巧,但通过充满活力和巧妙的求职信来展示它们会更有效。如果您为新加坡以外的英语公司提供求职信,您应该熟悉本国的求职信写作惯例。ULC的商务英语课程概述了如何做到这一点以及更多内容,以便您可以给自己最好的机会被邀请参加正式的工作面试。

3. 用专业英文回答

无论是通过电子邮件还是面对面,您都必须以专业的英语回答问题和发表评论。在回复面试官时,您需要快速回答,您将没有机会仔细检查单词或查找语法惯例,并且必须展现您对工作场所如何使用英语的理解。你最不想要的就是拥有一份出色的简历和求职信,但在求职面试中表明你缺乏面对面的沟通技巧。您可以通过个人学习和ULC的课程(例如商务英语课程)来提高您对专业英语的使用。这些课程将使您有机会练习现实世界的面试场景,因此当您获得工作面试时,您可以自信地进行面试。

4. 仪态和着装

在你的求职面试的正式开始之前,面试官会根据你的仪态和着装做出判断。如果你穿得邋遢,这表明你没有认真对待工作面试或不注意细节。如果你懒散地坐在座位上,坐立不安或看起来不舒服,你的面试官可能会感觉到你缺乏在他们的公司中表现出色所需的自信。在面试前花点时间仔细考虑一下你决定穿的衣服;确保他们适合该职位。换句话说,“为你想要的工作而着装”。

ULC助您成功通过工作面试

只要通过适当的准备,工作面试不会令人感到复杂可怕。确保您已经有效地展示了您的沟通和演讲技巧就可以轻而易举地通过面试流程。为了成功进入以英语为工作语言的公司,ULC的商务英语课程将为您提供来自在新加坡和国际各个行业的专业环境中拥有丰富经验的英语人士的见解。为自己在工作场所赢得成功的最佳机会,今天就报名参加 ULC 的英语课程。

Receiving a job interview is an exciting opportunity to demonstrate your professional and interpersonal skills for a potential employer. As organisations increasingly focus on global industry and connections, having professional English skills is a huge benefit that can set you apart from competitors. We’ve curated some tips from ULC’s English Lessons For Professionals course to show you how to demonstrate your English skills and cultural competence leading up to a job interview.

1. Resume/CV writing

Your resume is the first thing a potential employer will read about you, so it’s essential to make an excellent first impression. Having strong written English skills will demonstrate attention to detail and general competence, increasing your chances of receiving a job interview. It’s crucial to understand the vernacular and conventions associated with professional written English so that you avoid mistakes that reflect poorly on your English skills. In our English Lessons for Professionals course, our industry teachers demonstrate proper English use in professional contexts and help you develop the skills to create a clear, concise and compelling resume.

2. Cover letter writing

A cover letter is your opportunity to express your personality, work ethic and professional objective through a brief explanation of your professional achievements. Here, you can get creative and show off your communication skills. Try using industry-specific vocabulary and more complex and varied sentence structures. Although you can tell an employer that you possess strong communication skills, demonstrating them through a dynamic and artful cover letter is much more effective. If you’re providing a cover letter for an English-speaking company outside of Singapore, you should familiarise yourself with the cover letter writing conventions of the home country. ULC’s English class for professionals outlines how to do this and more so that you can give yourself the best chance of being invited to a formal job interview.

3. Responding in professional English

Whether over email or in person, you have to respond to questions and comments in professional sounding English. When responding to a potential employer, you won’t have the opportunity to double-check words or look up grammatical conventions; your responses are quick and must reflect your understanding of how English is used in the workplace. The last thing you want is to write an excellent resume and cover letter only to show in a job interview that your communication skills are lacking in person. You can improve your use of professional English through personal study and ULC’s courses such as the English Lessons for Professionals course. These courses will give you the opportunity to practice real-world interview scenarios so when you are offered a job interview, you can approach it with confidence.

4. Posture and dressing

Before you speak in a job interview, the interviewer will make judgments based on your presentation. If you are dressed sloppily, it will convey that you are not taking the job interview seriously or don’t have an attention to detail. If you are slouched in your seat, are fidgety or look uncomfortable, your interviewer may sense that you lack the self-assurance required to excel in their company. Take some time before your interview to think carefully about the clothes you decide to wear; make sure they are appropriate for the position. In other words, ‘dress for the job you want.’

Ace Your Job Interview with ULC’s help

A job interview doesn’t have to be complicated or frightening; with the proper preparation, you can breeze through the interview process confident that you have effectively demonstrated your communication and presentation skills. To prepare to enter an English-speaking workplace, ULC’s English Lessons for Professionals course will provide you with insights from English speakers with experience in professional contexts across various industries in Singapore and internationally. Give yourself the best chance of succeeding in the workplace, and sign up for an English class with ULC today.